A Theological Interpretation of Radiohead’s Supercollider

The below video is my final project that I did for my Religion and Media course at LTSG in August.  I used the song Supercollider by Radiohead and attempted to interpret it theologically into a video.

Thoughts and feedback are welcomed.

Now that my class has completed, my hope is to continue to blog as time and space allow.  If you’d like to continue to follow my posts, I’d encourage you to subscribe to my rss feed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Theological Interpretation of Radiohead’s Supercollider

  1. JJ Friberg says:

    I have enjoyed reading all your posts. I am totally ignorant about RSS feeds but hope that I will keep getting emails if you post something. It was OH so great to see you this past weekend. You did an AMAZING job on the video!!!!!

    From: bokehlutheran Reply-To: bokehlutheran Date: Monday, September 17, 2012 9:48 PM To: JJ Friberg Subject: [New post] A Theological Interpretation of Radioheads Supercollider

    WordPress.com bokehlutheran posted: “The below video is my final project that I did for my Religion and Media course at LTSG in August. I used the song Supercollider by Radiohead and attempted to interpret it theologically into a video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nq1LhGp7m9kThoughts

  2. mgvh@ltsg says:

    Hi, Dan! First, as an aspiring photographer, I love your bokehlutheran title. Background details in life can be a bit blurry, but often that’s where the beauty is. As for the video, I like the concept, but I think I would have to spend a bunch more time to ‘get’ it. At nearly 7.5 minutes long, it’s a bit too long (in the internet perception of time) to play it multiple times, so I kind of need to get a better sense of it first time through. A big problem for me is the lyrics. I love Radiohead, but I just don’t know the lyrics of this song well enough to pick them up as Thom York is singing. Maybe you could consider adding static or scrolling lyrics but that can mess up the ‘cleanness’ of your photos. Maybe it would simply work to have an introduction to the video and have the lyrics supplied there… So I checked out the lyrics myself, and I think it is a ‘positive’ or ‘optimistic’ song, and I think your lyrics capture that. Other than the cross images, I’m not sure what to make of it theologically though. I enjoy this kind of thing, but maybe you’ll give us a few hints on what you were intending. Thanks! mgvh

Leave a Reply

